Subscribe to the forum by e-mail
E-mail address:

::Rules of petanque front page
::Post new message


Share your thoughts with the world about the rules, how they are interpreted and how you interpret them.
The official rules are online here

Art. 15 Of Petanque rules

Posted by: Aad Twee) at 2012-07-24 09:03:26
Posting has been displayed 564 times

Latetely I see increasingly that during doublettes a teammate marks the throwing direction with both feet in a V-shape behind/around the jack. After throwing the boule then he steps aside in time so the boule is not to be stopped. It seems to me contrary to Art. 15 of the Rules (use of an object to mark the location where the boule must come down). More experienced players say however that I nag. I can not find if something about this subject already was written. Who can tell me more?
Thank you,

Art. 15 Of Petanque rules

Posted by: Don Nairn) at 2012-07-25 12:55:23
Posting has been displayed 1946 times

As I understand you can do whatever you want as long as you dont disturb the playing surface.

having a team mate stand in a particular spot doesn't disturb the playing surface.

Art. 15 Of Petanque rules

Posted by: Dave Smith) at 2012-07-31 15:30:33
Posting has been displayed 1632 times

I do it all the time but not in a 'V' shape as I find one foot is all that is needed.

::Rules of petanque front page
::Post new message

The world wide petanque and boule community, by and for users.

Tweets by @PetanqueOrg Tweets about "petanque"